Tandoori chicken lunch box

Tandoori chicken bites
I made these for lunch again this week. The recipe is from the Australian Women’s Weekly (AWW) Low-Fat Meals in Minutes. The original recipe is for eight people but I have halved it and use it for lunch for two people for two days.

chicken tikka bites and grilled veg

250g chicken breast fillets
1 TBS tandoori paste
quarter cup (65 ml) low fat yoghurt
quarter tsp ground cumin
quarter tsp ground coriander
For the dip
quarter cup (65 ml) low fat yoghurt
quarter tsp ground cumin
quarter tsp ground coriander
Cucumber seeded and finely chopped (book says Lebanese but I don’t think we have them in the UK)
Half TBS lemon juice
Half TBS finely chopped coriander leaves (optional – I usually forget)

  1. Cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces
  2. In a bowl, combine the chicken with ¼ cup of yoghurt, the tandoori paste and quarter tsp each of cumin and coriander.
  3. Cover and refrigerate overnight (or at least three hours).
  4. Thread the chicken onto skewers and cook (barbecue, grill, or griddle) until browned all over and cooked through.
  5. For the dip: combine the yoghurt, spices, lemon juice and cucumber. Stir and serve.

Nutritional info per quarter of this recipe: 140 kcals; 5.2g fat; 4g carbs; 19.3g protein; 0.2g fibre; 0.3 F&V

Fine eaten cold in a lunch box.

I made three fairly long skewers this time. I ate one for my lunch and left the other two, wrapped in cling film, in the fridge. One is for my SO (with strict instructions that he only has one) and I shall have the other tomorrow or Thursday. They keep quite well.

To pack, I take them off the skewer and put them in my box with some salad and a little pot of the dip.
chicken tikka bites & dip
They are great with mini pitta bread. However, I was having homemade rice pudding this afternoon so felt that I didn’t need the extra carbs/starch.

Leave a Reply

