Muffins, muffins, muffins

Banana & Blueberry Muffins

I baked my first ever muffins a couple of weeks back. Two different types: banana and blueberry muffins (made with porridge oats) and raspberry and white chocolate muffins. They were gorgeous and I made a second batch of the blueberry ones immediately for the freezer. However, I didn’t freeze them till a couple of days later which might explain why they were horrible when I defrosted them 😦

The raspberry and chocolate ones were delicious but a little heavy – not at all muffin-like.

raspberry and white chocolate muffin

Following tips from other comments on the recipe website I decided to try again with more baking powder and egg. more I decided to use one teaspoon of baking powder and two eggs but increase the rest of the ingredients by 50%. The result was good but surprisingly dry – till I discovered the melted butter was still in the microwave! The other difference with these was that the only white chocolate in the local shop was full of rice crispies.

Monday, 7th April

Today I made them again (the second way) but remembered the butter. They are delicious. I made six very large ones, used raspberries instead of blueberries and the chocolate was Green & Blacks white chocolate with vanilla (delicious).

raspberry and white chocolate muffins

I told my friend, Marilyn about the muffins and she said she loved muffins and had a recipe book, loaned to her by a colleague, called Marvellous Muffins. I’ve borrowed it and copied the recipes. Today, when I made the raspberry and white chocolate muffins I also made some apricot and walnut muffins. The author, Alison Holst, says these can be made as medium or mini muffins. As I only have large or mini I halved the quantity and made 24 mini ones. They were really nice and terribly more-ish.
apricot and walnut mini muffins

I’m planning to try a new recipe from the book each weekend that I’m home and freeze one to see how they go. Of course, like all my plans, it may fall by the wayside.

Freezing

I’ve put one large raspberry & chocolate and two mini apricot and walnut muffins straight into the freezer today (after they were properly cool, of course). I’ll take them out next weekend and see how they have kept.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

