Scale Woes and Food Choices

I achieved one of my goals today. My original blog is Countdown to Fifty where I listed the goals I wanted to achieve before my fiftieth birthday. Getting my degree was number two. Today I got my BA.

Goal number one was (and remains) ‘losing weight’.

Scale Woes
My tummy isn’t going away. My bum is getter smaller, the waist must be smaller because I can get into clothes that wouldn’t fit before, but there is still all that horrible blubber hanging around my middle.

A few weeks ago, just after I started using the gym with my personal trainer, the scales were registering good losses and I was happy. However, the batteries died and when they were replaced the weight seemed to have reappeared. Seems my loss was acatually a loss of battery power.

Of course I’m pleased that my clothes are getting looser, but it’s good to have that confirmation on the scales. Yes, I know that I will have been building muscle and that muscle is heavier than fat. But the belly is still hanging around.
Food Choices
For a while I’ve toyed with the idea of eating good quality pre-packed meals, at least during the week, to make sure I don’t put any extra on my plate. It kind of goes against the grain for me to do that as I really enjoy cooking and like toknow what is inside my food. However, I have so much to do at the moment that not having to cook on a weeknight would be good. It leaves the problem of what to do about my SO’s dinner. Buy him a ready meal as well? Expensive and he doesn’t need to loose (much) weight. Make him cook for himself?

I do have / have had portion-controlled home-made ready meals in the freezer before but usually they need veg or starch (rice, potatoes, pasta) added to them. Again, it takes time and I put on too much.

But the idea of only having in the fridge/freezer exactly what I will be eating, and nothing else is tempting.

Today’s food:
Monday, 4th August
Monday, 4th August

Food/Drink Serving Cals Prot Carb Fat Fibre F&V
Breakfast
Muesli, Simply Delicious, Dorset Cereals* 35g 128.1 3.8 20.7 3.3 2.6
blueberries 30g 18 0.3 4.1 0.3 0.9
Milk, Semi Skimmed 200ml 98 6.8 10 3.4 0
244.1 10.9 34.8 7 3.5
Lunch
prawns 85g 65.2 14.9 0.2 0.5 0
spring onion 4g 1.1 0.1 0.1 0 0.1
avocado 70g 133 1.3 1.3 13.7 2.4
cherry tomatoes 40g 7.6 0.3 1.3 0.1 0.4
206.9 16.6 2.9 14.3 2.9
Afternoon
strawberries 180g 49.7 1.4 10.7 0.2 1.7
Optifit blueberry 100g 125 4.6 14.1 5.6 0.1
174.7 6 24.8 5.8 1.8
Dinner
M&S nb Curry Chicken Thai green 400g 400 36.8 49.6 5.2 5.6
runner beans 200g 38.7 2.7 5.5 0.7 4.4
438.7 39.5 55.1 5.9 10
Cals Prot Carb Fat Fibre F&V
totals for Monday 4th August 1064.4 73 117.6 33 18.2 9.1
Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Scale Woes and Food Choices”

  1. suzanne Says:

    Oh that dratted scale!! Sometimes i really want to throw it out 😉 But you are losing sizes and that’s great. As far as the tummy goes i’m also trying to see a change in that and it’s just not happening yet, but like you the clothes are fitting better 😉

  2. Linda Says:

    Hi,
    I came across your blog from Katschi’s FABULOUS blog.

    I take it you are in the UK, me too. Where abouts in the UK are you?

    Nice pics, I LOVE food pics!

    Hugs x

  3. Sile Says:

    I feel your pain. Seems like the tummy is always the last thing to go and the first you WANT OUTTA THERE!

    I tend to ignore the scale, even though I do weigh myself once a week. how clothes fit is a better indicator, generally, since in working out, you’re probably adding muscle mass, which weighs MORE than fat.

    I’ve been finding that portion control is harder for me at dinner time. Breakfast and lunch for me are put into Japanese bento boxes which are AWESOME for portion control (stick to 600ml for real results!). I’ve been wanting to do big cooking on the weekends and then package foods into bento boxes for all three meals, but I’ve been so lazy lately.

    You seem to be eating really balanced! Keep up the good work! \:D/

  4. jacqib Says:

    Suzanne, hi, nice to ‘meet’ you. I suspect taht for both of us, and probably many others, the change is there but we don’t see it because we are looking everyday. A woman in my office has lost six stone (84lb) in the past year and for the first few stone would not beleive that she looked any thinner.

    Linda, hi to you too. I’ve now looked at Katchi’s blog – it is fabulous, isn’t it. I’m in Bletchley in Buckinghamshire (just south of Milton Keynes) but originally a Londoner. Where are you?

    Hi Sile. Dinner is the most difficult for portions. As you may have seen, I have done portion-controlled batch freezing in the past but I usually freeze them without veggies, etc. That’s my downfall. I think I really need to try to freeze complete meals. But I have a plan ….

  5. Dev Says:

    Congratulations on getting your BA. That’s a great accomplishment!!

Leave a Reply

