Food Shopping

{If you click on the photo it will take you to the original on flickr wehre you will find notes on each item telling you what it is.}

There’s a group on flickr called The Food Shopping Project. It appears to be dead. Nothing posted for the last seven months. Twenty-one members but only two have ever posted and there are only seven photos in the pool.

But I like the idea and, rather than start a new group duplicating this one, I’ve joined it. Maybe it will wake up, maybe it wont.

The idea is that every time you go shopping you lay out your purchases and photograph the lot (one picture). You add a note to each item to identify it and then put a note at the bottom corner of the picture giving the total cost.

The group rules ask that you give the currency conversion into US$ and € (euros).

I’m hoping to be living in New Zealand next year and one of the reasons I am doing this is to see the difference between food and prices here and there. So I converted it to NZ$ as well.

This lot came to £62.53 which is US$113.89, €77.60 and NZ$162.56

I often buy lots of fruit and veg. I would like to buy it from a market but the food from the markets around here goes off very quickly. The only exception is the once-a-month farmers market.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Food Shopping”

  1. culinarychick Says:

    I love this idea! I’ll have to get a camera and join up with you guys. Lord knows, I’m frustrated over the price of food and want to see how everyone else is faring. I’m on a fixed income, so this subject interests me. ZI’m gonna add you to my blogroll.

  2. jacqib Says:

    Hi CulinaryChick. Cool it will be good to see what other people buy/cook/eat and what they pay for it. Love your blog. Will add it to my blog roll.

  3. drcorner Says:

    They also have real-life shopping groups that documen buying styles/trends in groceries.

    I’ve just finished writing about some more tasty bites that may peak the inner-chef in you while you shop, please check it out, and comment on what you think. Thanks.

    http://drcorner.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/this-labor-day-barbecue-like-a-rockstar/

  4. drcorner Says:

    I forgot to add there’s also a lot of healthy options in my above link too, especialy great tasing seafood and salad. Thanks again, and I’ll keep checkinbg back to see how you’re doing with yoiur progress. Good luck.

  5. Adam Says:

    I don’t usually do the shopping, but I’ll join and see if I can take a picture of the groceries I do pic up…which is usually an avocado for guacamoleor anything else my wife or mother-in-law happen to have forgotten.
    Found you via the 365 days Flickr group by the way…love the look of your Quiche.

  6. jacqib Says:

    Adam, try the quiche and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

