Losing weight and cms at last (two pounds off)

As I’m not going out to work at the moment, I’ve decided to devote as much of my ‘spare time’ (what spare time?) as I can to exercising to get the weight off. Yesterday I was at the gym before 7.30am. Yes, you read that correctly – before 7.30am! Why so early? My SO was going to the gym before work and offered me a lift.

I’ve caught up with an old friend who is now in Australia.  She used to be a very, very big girl. She is now stunning and slim.  When I asked her how she did it she said “walking”.  So I did 30 minutes on the treadmill; an hour of other exercises; finished with another 30 minutes on the treadmill. After a shower and a rest with a book, I did the 11am aqua aerobics class. The timetable says that the class should be taken by Julie-Ann who is someone I don’t know. However, Emma, who I do know (I’ve done her 8pm Wednesday class a few times), took the class and the other ladies seemed not to be expecting a ‘Julie-Ann’ having had various different instructors over the weeks. I’m not usually a fan of Emma’s classes as I feel they lack imagination but it seems she is better with daytime classes than evenings.

So my exercise was:

  • 30 minutes on the treadmill, starting at 5kph then reducing to 4.7kph as I gradually took the gradient up to 3.5% (where I stayed for three minutes) and back down again.
  • Hand bike for 5 minutes.
  • Cross trainer (effort level two) for six minutes, then one minute rest then another six minutes.
  • Rowing machine for 750 metres which I did in 5 minutes and 41 seconds
  • The fixed weights where you pull your arms together (no idea what it is called) 15kg x 12 times (with a rest between six and seven).
  • Ball work – on my knees, forearms on the ball, pull it towards me x 12
  • On my back, lift pelvis and hold for count of 12, rest for count of six – 12 times.
  • Treadmill for 30 minutes. Stayed at 5kph for 25 minutes taking it up in increments to a 3% gradient and doing the last ten minutes slower and slower as a cool down.
  • 45 minute aqua aerobics class.
  • Walked to SOs office for a lift home

My meal shave been much smaller as well. I was surprised not to be hungry after all that exercise. I had a banana before I started (too early for breakfast) and a Special K bar. After Rik took me home I had a small lunch. Here is today’s food:

Monday, 15th September

Tags:

Leave a Reply

