What do you eat now that you didn’t have as a child?

or vice versa – are there things you used to eat that you don’t now? I got to thinking about this when writing my week two story for 52 stories. I never ate yoghurt till I fed it to my first child. Chinese and Indian, indeed any ethnic ‘take-away’ foods were unheard of in my childhood. We didn’t have gravy with our roast dinners – and I’m still useless at making gravy. I never had sweetcorn (either canned or frozen, or on the cob or mini), courgettes, aubergine, mange tout or sugar snaps. We seldom had rice or pasta – when we did they were considered exotic. We certainly never had curry.

Is there anything I ate then that I don’t now? Probably although nothing springs to mind. Jelly and blancmange, perhaps. But I suspect that is more to do with it being a children’s dish rather than it being ‘of it’s time’ (although it probably true too.

I certainly ate a lot more cakes in a greater variety then than I do now. My mother made wonderful cakes. As well as the chocolate eclairs mentioned in the story – with tinned cream inside and chocolate icing made with cocoa powder on the top – she made coconut pyramids and cream horns. She had special tins for these. The cream horns were made by wrapping a long thin strip of puff pastry around a cone-shaped tin, egg washing it and sprinkling with sugar. After it was cooked and cooled a spoonful of strawberry jam was put in the bottom and the rest of the cone was filled with (tinned) cream.

Mum also made something that didn’t have a name. We just called them ‘those round pineapple things’. This was a circle of shortcrust pastry – the size of the tin which pineapple rings came in – topped with a ring of canned pineapple. On top of that went another circle of pastry – this one had a hole cut out of the middle, to correspond with the hole in the pineapple. The hole was filled with a meringue mixture before baking it in the oven. Which reminds me, pineapple always came from a tin, never fresh. Avocados were also something I didn’t see until the late 1990s.

So what about you?

Tags: , ,

One Response to “What do you eat now that you didn’t have as a child?”

  1. Sile Says:

    I think the most major thing I have now that we didn’t have in the house growing up is skim milk (aka fat free). Mom would never buy anything with less fat than 2%. When I got into college I started drinking only skim and found that I liked it more, and when I went back home to visit, I found that I couldn’t drink mom’s milk anymore because it was too thick! Since I now cook for both her and my stepfather, I have forced the skim on them, and now they’re used to it too. I am so mean, denying them fat. 😉

    There are also a great variety of fruits and vegetables that I have been gradually adding into our diet that we never had growing up, either because mom didn’t know how to prepare them (she really isn’t the best of cooks. not very confident in the kitchen), or they were too costly, or just not available. Since I now do most, if not all of the cooking for the two households, and I know how to read a recipe, we’ve been having such a great variety of things and I think we’re better for it. Not all of it has been a success, however. I discovered I don’t like mango, for example. But I did try it more than once, just to make sure. 🙂 I never was a picky eater, thankfully.

    Oh. FRESH broccoli. Growing up, and until last summer, we’d been eating only frozen, which is ok. But since I started going to the farmer’s market last summer, we’ve been on FRESH only. The taste is so much better!

    The same market also introduced me to WHITE peaches! I nearly wept when their season was over. The taste is so different. So good. I want one now. *tears up*

Leave a Reply

